| Internet
Advertisement Explained : Part 7
All you Wanted to Know
About Banner Advertisement
Banner advertisement is perhaps the oldest and most
common mode of advertisement in the WWW. In its simplest
form - it acts like a billboard, spreading a promotional
message and helping interested visitors to jump to relevant
web-site.
Difference between a physical billboard and on-line
banner advertisement lies in ability of the later to
measure campaign effectiveness. Unlike traditional ad
media like TV or print where measuring audience response
is difficult - its possible to obtain clear and accurate
measurements of success or failure of on-line ads through
web traffic analysis.
How good is banner advertisement for your business
? Should you adopt this known and trusted method or
go for new ones like search engine based PPC ? The answer
lies in your requirement and an understanding of what
banner advertisement can deliver.
Let us discuss various concepts associated with on-line
advertisement and analyze how banner advertisement works.
What Kind of On-Line Advertisement Suits my Business
?
There are three major reasons for creating online advertising
campaign. These are:
- Building brand awareness
- Increasing website traffic
- Creating leads and sales
You need to analyze your precise requirements and prioritize
the objectives of planned ad campaign. If the objective
is brand building or pure promotion - banner advertisement
is ideally suited. However, if you are more keen on
leads and sales - targeted advertisements such as search
engine marketing could be better option. In many cases
- a mix of banner ad and search engine marketing could
be the answer.
Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement
Before proceeding any further, it is important to understand
a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements
in general and banner advertisement in particular.
Impression
Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has
been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad
or received an "impression" by seeing the
ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery
system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web
page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different
from page views in the sense that there may be multiple
banner views within one page view. There's another distinction
between page view and banner view - some banner serving
software do not count a banner view unless the visitor
stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully
downloaded from ad server.
CPM
CPM refers to cost per
thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral
used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the
advertising industry to describe how many people have
viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression"
by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price
an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000
times.
For example, an advertising rate of $10 CPM, means
the advertiser is paying $10 for every 1,000 impressions,
or $0.01 for each banner impression.
CTR or Click-Through
When a visitor gets interested
in promotional message of a banner, he/she clicks on
it to learn more and is automatically transported to
advertiser's website. Every time someone clicks on the
banner, it is called a "click- through," and
the "click-through rate" is expressed in terms
of percentage of users who click on an advertisement
(i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In other
words, click through ratio is an indication of a banner's
effectiveness.
How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement
Universally, there are
two modes of payment for banner ad
In India - there's a third mode of payment based
on duration of time a banner is hosted on a web-site.
Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server'
rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site.
It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough
and other vital statistics.
In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number
of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example,
if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser
gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions
If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser
may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her
web-site. This is apart from brand building based
on number of impressions.
In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed
fee for every click, no matter what is the number
of impressions.
In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India),
advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly
rate, irrespective of the number of impression or
click-thorough.
Types of Banners Advertisements
Traditional banner ads
were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image
file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner
ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the
popular modes of non-static banner ads
Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have
a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping
to another website - these banners simply open up and
reveal more information.
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However,
too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly
large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise
caution on banner design.
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow
the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This
mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where
several businesses can advertise together.
- Interstitial - These appear in a separate window as
the website loads. These ads often contain large graphics,
animation, and streaming presentations.
- Java, Flash, and Shockwave - These allow for rich media
presentation including video and audio. Common browser
toolbars such as Alexa, Google etc. suppress this type
of banners
- Floating Ads and DHTML - These banners float over the
content a website and generally perceived as intrusive,
although they do get a high click-through rate.
- Unicast - These are just like little TV ads that run
in a separate window
Checklist for Banner Designers
Here's a few things to keep in mind while creating banner
ad
- Make it smaller in size:
preferably under 12K. This way - the banner will be
quick to load.
-
Keep it Simple: Stay simple. Don't get too complicated
with heavy text and confusing colors.
-
Make it Easy-to-read
-
Always use ALT tags for text display on those surfing
without images
-
Verify that the banner clicks-through to the appropriate
page on your website
-
Limit your use of animation
-
Include a call to action (e.g. Order Now, Visit Web-Site
etc.)
-
Test your banners in different browsers at different
screen resolutions.
-
Get your web designer to make your banner ads for you
in a variety of standard sizes if you are not experienced
in advertising.
Conclusion
Lack of targeting and visitor apathy are two major drawbacks
of banner ad campaigns. Because of large scale use or
misuse - visitors today treat banners as necessary evil
and pay little attention. Click through rate of banner
ads are much lower compared to other forms of on-line
advertisement such as targeted search engine marketing.
However, banner ads are more effective in brand building
and work very well when the creative is attractive and
ad delivery systems can do some targeting
Happy and Productive Surfing
Dr. Amit K Chatterjee
Related Links:
Author
: Dr.
Amit K. Chatterjee
(Amit worked in blue-chip Indian and MNCs for 15
years in various capacities like Research and Information
Analysis, Market Development, MIS, R&D Information
Systems etc. before starting his e-commerce venture
in 1997. The views expressed in this columns are
of his own. |
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